Just another WordPress.com site

Crash


SunflowerI have not been able to blog for more than a week, as my computer crashed.  I had to install a whole new operating system, then try to retrieve all my files, which took literally hours on the phone, (mostly on hold it seems!)  I still haven’t finished reloading software, but at least I am back, and as far as I can tell, most of my important files (especially photos) are intact.

I was still running Windows XP and have put off updating as long as possible, as I am a creature of habit and hate learning a new system, but this has forced my hand, so I will have to bite the bullet and learn Windows 8.1 as best I can.

I have not re-installed my card reader yet, so have not downloaded any new photos, so I will cheat a bit and use something from the Archives for today’s photo.

I chose this Sunflower because it is such a dull and dreary day today, and I need to cheer myself up.

As if the computer woes were not enough, my washing machine malfunctioned yesterday, and had partially flooded the basement before I realized anything was wrong.  I contacted a repair guy, but the machine is 29 years old and they don’t make parts for it any more!  Looks like we will be shopping for a new machine, while a load of wet towels sits in the wash basket!  Could this week get any better! 🙂

6 responses

  1. I am glad you did not lose any photos. I have lost some and it was very upsetting.

    March 21, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    • Not sure yet if they are all there, but certainly, most of them are. Now I just have to learn how to operate the new system – Oh Joy! 🙂

      March 23, 2014 at 12:18 pm

  2. I’m sorry to hear that your computer crashed; however, I’m glad to hear that your pictures are okay. When my computer crashed last year all I could think about was my hundreds of photos. Why do things like to break in groups?

    Spring Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    March 21, 2014 at 4:38 pm

    • Thanks Wendy. I used a ‘cloud’ backup service, and was very impressed with the job they did.

      March 23, 2014 at 12:21 pm

  3. Crooked Tracks

    My computer crashed last summer and it took two days to put it back together. I am happy I did not lose any photos. Good luck with your repairs.

    March 20, 2014 at 3:41 pm

    • Thank you. So far so good!

      March 20, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.