Just another WordPress.com site

Day Trip


img_3927

Although I am grateful for the milder temperatures we have been experiencing lately, I am finding the dull, cloudy days a bit depressing.  So on Thursday, when the sun suddenly appeared, I dropped everything to drive to Port Huron and the Bluewater Bridge.

img_3935

As I drove east, it was soon apparent there would be no sun at my destination, but I pressed on anyway.

Once at the park beneath the bridge, I found the river was completely ice-free.  The lake was shrouded in fog, so I could not tell if it was iced in, but the appearance of a boat approaching told me it must be at least partially open.

img_3947

I was excited to see it was the Coastguard Cutter, which moors just south of the Bridge. Nice photo ops, even with less than ideal lighting.

7 responses

  1. I love these pictures! It reminds me of our visit there with you and Brian.

    January 29, 2017 at 8:50 am

  2. Lovely shots! Fog is good for a certain mood. 🙂

    January 24, 2017 at 10:12 am

    • Thank you. It often makes for some interesting shots.

      January 27, 2017 at 9:56 am

  3. Mags Corner

    Very nice pictures. We are finally getting some sunshine after 12 straight days of either fog, drizzle, mist or rain. I really enjoyed these pictures. Hugs

    January 23, 2017 at 2:05 pm

    • Thanks Mags. We are still gloomy here, have almost forgotten what the sun looks like!

      January 27, 2017 at 9:57 am

  4. Laura

    I know what you mean, the foggy days just zap away all my energy.

    January 23, 2017 at 12:47 pm

    • I do enjoy a foggy day once in a while, but more than ready for some sunshine now.

      January 27, 2017 at 9:58 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.