Just another WordPress.com site

Balloon Launch


IMG_3669

Every August, the village of Metamora holds a Summer Festival, the highlight of which is the Hot Air Balloon Launch.

I have lost track of how many times I have attended this affair, or how many photos I have taken, but it never seems to get old.

IMG_3677

The balloons are so colorful, and being so close to them as they prepare to launch never seems to lose its appeal.

This year, as the date approached, I could not make up my mind whether to go or not.  It is hard to do things alone that I used to do with my husband, but in the end, I decided to give it a try.

IMG_3667

As it happened, I did run into some people I knew, who were kind enough to invite me to join them.  It takes over an hour for all the balloons to prepare for take-off so it was nice to have someone to chat with while we waited.

IMG_3682

Once more, I am thankful for digital cameras, as I can snap as many photos as I want, knowing I can easily discard any mistakes!

There must have been close to twenty balloons in all, but I was having much too much fun to count them!

7 responses

  1. Such lovely colourful balloons against the blue sky. It makes me smile just looking at your pictures.

    September 2, 2016 at 2:46 am

    • Thank you. Weather conditions really were perfect.

      September 2, 2016 at 11:21 am

  2. Lovely pictures! What gorgeous colors!

    September 1, 2016 at 3:50 pm

    • Thanks. Have to admire the volunteers that pull this together every year!

      September 2, 2016 at 11:24 am

  3. Laura

    What beautiful colorful balloons! I really like the last photo because the people in the basket look so small next to the big balloons.

    September 1, 2016 at 3:39 pm

    • Thank you. It is a thrill to see them so close up.

      September 2, 2016 at 11:25 am

  4. Pingback: Balloon Launch — jbcamera | Magikal Journeys Art Studio

Leave a Reply

