Just another WordPress.com site

Day Trip to Applewood


IMG_3647

Last Sunday I was feeling lonely and at loose ends, so I decided to take myself out for the afternoon.

A friend had posted photos on Facebook of a visit she had made to Applewood Estate, and I realized this lovely place was less than an hour from my home.

IMG_3640

It is the former home of the Mott Family, who have generously turned over the lovely house and grounds to a philanthropic organization, making it available to the general public.

IMG_3645

A couple of hours spent wandering through the beautifully tended gardens, boosted my spirits, and gave my camera a good workout!

IMG_3635

The hot, dry weather had left some of the flowers looking a little past their best, but the Hibiscus was clearly thriving.  I have never seen such enormous blooms.  One of the volunteers referred to them as ‘satellite dishes!’

2 responses

  1. Laura

    I love public gardens and the people who keep them looking so beautiful.

    August 21, 2016 at 6:43 pm

    • Me too. I will definitely visit here again. Thanks for stopping by.

      August 23, 2016 at 9:48 am

Leave a Reply

