Just another WordPress.com site

Looking Back


IMG_0992After two absolutely brutal Winters, we have really appreciated an unusually mild December.  I have not even heard anyone complain about not having snow for Christmas!  It has been quite a bit colder this past week, but today we have sunshine and temperatures slightly above freezing – not bad for January 6th.

IMG_0997

Could not resist looking back through the archives to December 2013 and the ice storm which left many of us without power all the way through Christmas.

IMG_0964

Although the storm was devastating to the trees and power lines, it was very beautiful, especially when the sun came out a day or two later.

IMG_0960

The foot of snow we had in November soon melted, and we have not had anything measurable since then.  I have often complained about not being able to walk my favorite trails during the winter, because the deep snow made the footing too difficult, so this year my daughter bought me Snowshoes for Christmas!  I can just hear Mother Nature laughing!  Haven’t even tried them on yet, but I’m sure they will get a workout before 2016 is out.
6 responses

  1. RMW

    Enjoy looking at these gorgeous photos but very glad I don’t have to be in it!!!

    January 17, 2016 at 2:54 pm

    • We are grateful this Winter has been a little easier on us (so far), but is sure made for some wonderful photo ops!

      January 18, 2016 at 2:13 pm

  2. Deb

    I’m so glad those photos are memories this year, so far. I wait with baited breath for the day Mother Nature says “haha!!! Fooled you!” And proceeds to dump snow and ice on us!!

    January 6, 2016 at 7:58 pm

    • I’m sure it will come soon enough. Just grateful to be off the hook for now! 🙂

      January 7, 2016 at 10:09 am

  3. I know this was difficult for daily living, but oh my goodness, it was so beautiful.

    January 6, 2016 at 6:51 pm

    • It really was, especially when the sun shone. Thanks for stopping by.

      January 7, 2016 at 10:10 am

Leave a Reply

