Just another WordPress.com site

Peek-a-Boo!


Painted Turtle

Painted Turtle

Spotted a Painted Turtle on the lawn the other day, and hurried outside with my camera.  

Years ago, I spotted our Collie playing with what looked like a rock, picking it up and tossing it in air, having a fine old time.  When I went out to see what he was up to, it turned out to be a very unhappy turtle!  Thank goodness, Collies have gentle mouths and the turtle was unharmed, but it must have been quite a wild ride for him!

I persuaded Rusty to part with his ‘toy’, placed it right side up on the lawn, and within a few minutes, it went on about its business, none the worse for the ordeal!

IMG_2998

Our cool, wet Summer seems to be agreeing with the Impatiens on the deck, and they are just about overflowing the pots with colorful blooms.

 

Rose of Sharon

Rose of Sharon

Last week, it was warm enough for us to run the air conditioning for a few days.  Now we are getting a taste of Fall, and I have had to turn on the furnace a couple of times!  It is quite dark when I go down to feed the horses at 6 a.m., especially if it is cloudy as it has been lately.  It is supposed to warm up later in the week.  I hope so.  I do enjoy Autumn, but I am not ready to let go of Summer just yet!

7 responses

  1. I planted mine because they attract Hummingbirds, but I think they prefer the single variety over the double, which I have. Thanks for stopping by.

    August 28, 2015 at 11:47 am

  2. Deb

    What the heck happened to our summer anyway?! And, didn’t we JUST have winter? I’m soo not ready for cold weather and that nasty word—snow!

    August 27, 2015 at 11:40 pm

    • After just a couple of chilly days spent wrapped up in an afghan, I am already tired of being cold! Not looking forward to Winter at all! 😦

      August 28, 2015 at 11:43 am

  3. The turtle has some interesting colour markings.

    August 27, 2015 at 7:06 pm

    • If he would have come out of his shell a little more, we could see even more colours, but he was a bit shy! 🙂

      August 28, 2015 at 11:45 am

      • What a pity. They are shy creatures though.

        August 28, 2015 at 12:43 pm

  4. My cat is scared of turtles, I don’t know why…
    The Rose of Sharon flower is beautiful. I planted Rose of Sharon bushes in my yard because I read that deer don’t like to eat them…and it is true. The deer never touched them. Unfortunately, the flowers are extremely attractive and yummy to the Japanese Beetles.

    August 27, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Leave a Reply

