Just another WordPress.com site

Fooled Again!


IMG_2577Once again, our Michigan Spring has fooled me!  The warmer weather has lasted much longer than I expected, and the snow and ice are almost gone.  The spillway from the lake in the Park is in full spate and areas of open water are appearing around the edges of the lake.

IMG_2573

There are a few Canada Geese around and the Robins, Redwings and Grackles are back.  I have also spotted a couple of Turkey Vultures and two Sandhill Cranes, so Spring is definitely underway!

Of course, we are not out of the woods yet.  Other areas of the country are getting snow today, and we will probably have some before Spring really comes to stay, but for the time being we are making the most of these mild, sunny days, and getting outside as much as possible.

IMG_2578

Finding these Pussy Willow buds opening was bitter-sweet this year.  Ever since I was ten years old, I have sought these out as soon as they begin to bud, so that I could bring some to my Mother.  This year I brought some home and set them on a window ledge, and I think of her every time I look at them.

Leave a Reply

