Just another WordPress.com site

Nature Walk


Swamp in SpringOn Saturday, I met with some photographer friends for an outdoor shoot at our local Nature Conservancy.Mayapple bloom

It was a beautiful morning, and we found plenty of Mayapples and Wild Geraniums in bloom.  Mayapples are not the easiest flower to photograph, as they shyly hide their blooms under the leaves.  You have to be willing to get down on hands and knees, or even lie down to capture them, but they are worth the effort.Wild Geranium

I spent much of the weekend planting flowers.  Our soil is so poor here, I confine my gardening efforts to containers.  They require more watering, but less weeding, and tend to be safer from marauding critters.

Last night, however a Possum raided the planters on our deck, digging up three of the four pots, and filling the ornamental fountain with dirt. I know it was a Possum, because it left muddy footprints behind!

Abbie growled just after we went to bed, and I hushed her.  If I had heeded her warning instead of telling her to be quiet, I could have caught him in the act.  I won’t make that mistake again!

Ah, the joys of Country Living! 🙂

2 responses

  1. Possums are nasty fighters. Hope Abbie and one doesn’t get into a tussle. Keep the dog in and use a gun!

    May 29, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    • I have a good strong pellet gun, which would take care of it in a hurry. Abbie’s job is to stay inside and bark through the window! 🙂

      May 29, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

