Just another WordPress.com site

Exciting Capture


Pileated Woodpecker

In my travels I often see signs of Pileated Woodpecker activity.  The holes they make are quite distinctive.  A couple of times I have been lucky enough to catch a glimpse of one, but never had the opportunity to photograph one.

Today I spotted one from the car as I was headed out for lunch with my husband.  Thank goodness we live on a quiet road, as I was able to quickly back the car up to get a better look.  I was sure he would fly away as soon as we got close, but he didn’t and I was able to grab the camera and get at least one good shot of him.

Just as the 10 day forecast was beginning to offer hope of a coming thaw, Mother Nature is playing a cruel trick on us.  Snow began falling around 4:30 and we could have more than six inches on the ground (in addition to the two feet already there) before morning. It looks like the coming thaw will leave us with a big sloppy mess!

In spite of my vow not to take any more snow pictures, the Park was so pretty this morning I could not resist a couple of shots.  Pines in SnowSnowy RoadRobins usually do not return to Michigan until sometime in March, but we have seen quite a few already.  I wonder what has brought them back so early, and how the poor things are surviving.

6 responses

  1. Beautiful shot. Well done, Jane!

    February 20, 2014 at 5:20 am

    • Thanks. It’s always a thrill to catch a glimpse of this elusive bird, and getting photo was icing on the cake!

      February 20, 2014 at 6:28 am

  2. His head looks so colourful.

    February 18, 2014 at 6:49 am

    • They are a very striking bird, and about he size of a crow. Very exciting to see.

      February 18, 2014 at 7:34 am

  3. A majestic male pileated–yes, quite a find. Good thing you stopped right away.

    February 17, 2014 at 8:50 pm

    • My husband was a bit alarmed when I stopped and threw the car into reverse. (I did check my mirrors first!) So glad I spotted him. It made my day.

      February 17, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Leave a Reply

