Just another WordPress.com site

A Fine Crop


Ripe ApplesThe semi-wild trees next to our trail, are still sporting plenty of apples.  Dozens of them fall every day, but the deer and other wildlife clean them up overnight.

I try to avoid giving Abbie her after-dinner walk at dusk, or we are practically tripping over deer on ‘the back forty’, and Abbie always wants to give chase.

I am trying to teach her to stand quietly with me so that I can watch them, but it only works if I spot them first, and shorten the leash before she lunges and barks.  Once that happens, all I get to see is the white tails disappearing into the woods! :-).

Red Maple Leaves

Cloudy, wet weather is moving in, but we were blessed with some sunshine yesterday, so I thought I had better get out with my camera while the going was good.

8 responses

  1. We saw 2 deer in the sand dunes last year. That was pretty exciting, especially as Frankie chased them 🙂 Haven’t seen any this year.

    Great looking apples and love the autumn leaves.

    October 24, 2013 at 5:10 am

    • Thank you. I do love the Autumn colours, and try not to think about the winter to come!

      October 24, 2013 at 9:15 am

  2. Yum yum yum

    October 22, 2013 at 11:36 am

    • We don’t spray or prune them, so they tend to be a bit wormy, so we leave them for the wildlife and feed some to the horses (who don’t seem to mind the occasional worm!)

      October 25, 2013 at 5:26 pm

  3. Deb

    We’ve had a bumper crop of yummy apples on our trees also. Wish I knew how to preserve them for later use.
    The only deer I see close up are the ones who pop out of nowhere and barely miss hitting on my way to or from work. Thanks for the picture. If you can get the deer in a picture, please share!

    October 21, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    • Sadly, I have hit my share of deer with the car. Usually they fare better than the car, running off into the woods, leaving my car battered and dented. Thanks for commenting.

      October 22, 2013 at 9:48 am

  4. Must be an amazing sight to watch the deer eat.

    October 21, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    • They do it mostly about dusk and after dark, so we don’t often see them, but their tracks tell us they were there.

      October 22, 2013 at 9:50 am

Leave a Reply

