Just another WordPress.com site

July Blooms


Milkweed Bloom

Found plenty of Milkweed blooming this week.  These plants are important to Monarch Butterflies.  The leaves are toxic to most animals, but the Monarch Caterpillar eats nothing else.  This make it and the butterflies they become toxic to potential predators.

Thistle Bloom

Thistles too are beginning to bloom.  We work so hard to keep these pesky weeds out of our gardens, that we rarely stop to see how beautiful they are.  I allow them to grow in out-of-the-way parts of our property as they are a favorite food of Goldfinches.  As I try to identify the plants I photograph, I am learning that many of the weeds we wage war on are beneficial in some way.

Fungi

The wet and humid weather has produced a bumper crop of fungi, and I found this really large one growing next to the lake this morning.  Something seems to have taken a bite out of it, and I wonder if it is toxic.

 

8 responses

  1. Thanks for educational post. I am pleased confident this post assists me save many hours of exploring other similar posts in order to find what I had been looking for. Merely I want to say: Thank you!

    July 19, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    • Thanks so much. I do try to identify what I photograph, and if I am unable, blogging friends usually help me out. It has been very educational for me. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

      July 20, 2013 at 7:39 am

  2. interesting and beautiful pictures

    July 11, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    • Thank you. Thanks for stopping by.

      July 11, 2013 at 6:03 pm

  3. I don’t know whether the mushroom is toxic, but it sure looks interesting.

    July 8, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    • I certainly won’t be sampling it! Better safe than sorry!

      July 9, 2013 at 6:18 pm

  4. Forest So Green

    Plants for butterflies are so very important. Nice photos. Annie

    July 8, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    • Thank you. I am learning to be more tolerant of ‘weeds’ as I learn more about them, and try to live in harmony with Nature as much as possible.

      July 8, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Leave a Reply

