Just another WordPress.com site

Resident Tree Frog


Butterfly WeedCame across some Butterfly Weed just beginning to bloom on our walk this morning. We made the most of a pleasantly cool morning to give Abbie a longer walk, as I think it will be hot and humid again later in the day.  It is feeling more like August than June right now, but is supposed to cool off by the weekend.

Tree Frog

I spotted some mosquito larvae swimming in the fountain today, so it had to be emptied and cleaned.  This did not please our resident Tree Frog, and I was sorry to disturb him.  I worked as quickly and quietly as possible and soon had it up and running again.  When I checked to see where he was, I found him clinging to the power cord, ready to shinny back up into his hiding place.  Couldn’t resist the opportunity to photograph the cute little guy!

IMG_4010The Orioles are still visiting regularly and have polished of a whole jar of grape jelly.  We will have to pick up a new jar next time we shop.

Oriole

4 responses

  1. Forest So Green

    I haven’t seen a tree frog in a few years. Are they common in your area?

    June 28, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    • Yes they are. We hear them more often than we see them, but I often come across them in my flower pots and almost always in the fountain.

      June 29, 2013 at 9:45 am

  2. I’ve never heard of butterfly weed before – what a beautiful flower! That little guy is so sweet. I’m pleased he managed to keep safely out of the way during the clean up!

    June 27, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    • The proper name is Asclepias Tuberosa, and I believe it belongs to the Milkweed family. The Tree Frogs do complicate cleaning the fountain, but I do enjoy having them around!

      June 27, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Leave a Reply

