Just another WordPress.com site

Fickle May


Lily of the Valley

Our fickle weather has turned on us again and I needed hat, scarf and gloves for our walk this morning.  In spite of this, the air is sweet with the scent of blossoms.  The lilacs, which are still in full bloom, have now been joined by the Wild Cherry trees and the Russian Olives, and next to my trail, Lily of the Valley are adding their sweet scent to the air. (Probably not good for my allergies, but I enjoy them nonetheless.)

Bumble Bee

We found this Bumblebee resting by our back door on Tuesday, so I had to snap a few photos.

Petunias

Last week, we visited our local nursery and bought a few annuals.  Glad I resisted the temptation to plant them early, since it has turned so cold, but hope to get them in this weekend.  Since our soil is so poor, I am confined to container gardening, so at least I have the option of moving things inside if the nights get too cold.

6 responses

  1. We too are experiencing fickle weather. The flowers are beautiful though and the sight of them is better than the bare beds we see during winter.

    May 25, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    • I agree. The colourful show is so welcome after the drabness of late Winter.

      May 28, 2013 at 9:56 am

  2. Lilacs and Lily of the Valley–how sweet the air must be when the sun comes in. Thank you!

    May 24, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    • Indeed it is. Thanks for visiting.

      May 25, 2013 at 6:41 pm

  3. I love the way you put a doily under the vase. This picture motivates me to look for some vintage doilies that I have.

    May 24, 2013 at 1:33 pm

    • I have many of them, gifts from my Mother-In-Law who was very talented with a needle.

      May 25, 2013 at 6:41 pm

Leave a Reply

