Just another WordPress.com site

One Man’s Blight


 

Abandoned House

This house in our neighborhood was abandoned long before we moved here, and it has always fascinated me.  I have tried to photograph it several times, but since it faces north, the front is almost always in shadow and I have not been able to do it justice.

When we moved here forty plus years ago, it still appeared to be structurally sound, and I often wondered why it was abandoned.  The people who own it built a newer (and uglier) house next door and as far as I know still live there.

Last week, our local fire department burned it down as a training exercise.  Township officials said it had become a blight on the neighborhood and needed to come down.

Maybe I am crazy, but I have always thought it was a beautiful house, even in its dilapidated condition, and I will miss seeing it when I drive by.

2 responses

  1. Thanks. I’m glad I’m not alone in thinking it a very special place.

    February 21, 2013 at 1:03 pm

  2. I agree. Beauty truly is in the eye of the beholder. You can look at it and see such character and wonder what memories it holds.

    February 20, 2013 at 7:34 pm

Leave a Reply

