Just another WordPress.com site

Bluebird Day Spa


Bluebirds

Had a whole family of Bluebirds visiting my fountain the other day.  Probably sprucing themselves up before heading south, although they do sometimes stick around for the winter.

Our Barn Swallows are long gone, as are the Wrens, and I have noticed Robins beginning to flock together, so I expect they will be heading out before long.  I do think it strange that the Robin, being our State Bird, should desert us for the winter!  If it were up to me, the  Chickadee would be our State Bird.  They are so cheerful and lively and brighten many a dull Winter’s day as they visit our feeders.

Cooler temperatures are on the way and some of the leaves are beginning to turn.  I don’t think we will have a very colorful Fall this year since the trees have been so stressed by the heat and drought that they have been losing leaves all summer.  Time will tell, and I will be ready with my camera to catch what color I can.

8 responses

  1. I mean – a Free Spa…lol

    October 6, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    • Too funny! Had me wondering for a moment. Thanks for visiting.

      October 7, 2012 at 4:37 pm

      • ha ha typos, typos…:-)

        October 7, 2012 at 5:37 pm

  2. Free Spy for birdies:-). God Bless!

    October 6, 2012 at 4:54 pm

  3. Northern Narratives

    The birds must love that water. What a cool photo.

    October 1, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    • Thanks. The birds do make a mess of my fountain, but it’s worth it to see them enjoying themselves.

      October 2, 2012 at 11:24 am

  4. Vicki

    that is very cute 🙂

    September 17, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    • Thanks. I so enjoy seeing Bluebirds around and am happy they seem to have had a successful breeding season.

      September 18, 2012 at 10:58 am

Leave a Reply

