Just another WordPress.com site

A Better Day


Sunday was a difficult day.  Struggling with depression and anxiety I was tempted to crawl into bed and stay there, but it was a beautiful sunny day, so I forced myself to pack the camera bag and visit Seven Ponds Nature Center in Dryden.

I have only been there a few times, so almost as soon as I set off I was lost, even with the help of the trail map I was given at the Visitor Center, but I pushed on  and explored, enjoying the sunshine and birdsong.

Eventually I came to an observation tower overlooking one of the ponds and I climbed it, hoping to see a Heron or some ducks.

No Herons in sight so I took a few shots of a Downy Woodpecker and a Cedar Waxwing on a dead tree in front of me.  As I sat down on the bench to put away the camera, something caught my attention, and here came these two Sandhill Cranes walking calmly through the meadow behind me.

I’m sure they knew I was there, but perhaps because I was above them, they didn’t seem to feel threatened and went calmly about their business as I snapped away.  I am always thrilled to see these elegant birds, and even more thrilled to be so close to them.

All told, it was a wonderful walk and by the time I had found my way back to the car, I was in a much better frame of mind.

Leave a Reply

