Just another WordPress.com site

Ups and Downs


Yet another chilly morning.  I made my way down to the edge of the lake to photograph the mist coming off the water, and found this interesting tree root.  Erosion has washed away the soil, leaving it exposed.  It reminded me of something out of a horror movie or The Legend of Sleepy Hollow!  I wonder how long the tree can survive like this?

The swans flew over the lake while we were there, so they are still around.

It warmed up a little this afternoon, and I managed to ride Twiggy.  Ran the shedding blade over both horses and got enough hair to stuff a mattress.  The birds around here will not lack for nice, soft nesting material!

I have two lilac bushes, both started from very old stock.  Some years they do very well and are full of blooms, and some years there are very few.  This year, our unseasonably warm Spring has brought them on very early, and they are just full of buds.  I am holding my breath, just hoping I don’t lose them all to the frost/freezes we have been experiencing this week.  

 

3 responses

  1. The tree has grown an interesting root system. Is it exposed because of soil erosion?

    April 12, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    • I believe so. The ground slopes sharply down to the lake at this point.

      April 16, 2012 at 4:30 pm

      • Probably caused by water over the years.

        April 16, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Leave a Reply

