Just another WordPress.com site

Furry Visitor


This is the time of year I usually start putting out my bird feeders.  I have found that hanging seed feeders in the summer makes too much mess and attracts too many less welcome critters, so I stick to Hummingbird feeders for the summer.

It seems the local critters are well acquainted with my schedule, because they are already sending scouts to see if I have put the feeders up yet (which I haven’t).  Looks like I will have to get busy before they start actually knocking on the window!

The summer birds are gathering in larger and larger flocks, ready to head South.  The Park was full of Redwing Blackbirds and Robins the other day.  They were all very vocal – perhaps discussing routes and departure dates. 

I envy them sometimes.  If I had wings and no permanent home, I sure would fly away for the Winter!  It is a mystery to me why any of the birds stay year round!

One response

  1. Love the picture!

    November 3, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

