Just another WordPress.com site

Catching Up


I had to give the blog a few days off as we prepared for our horse show.  It rained every day the week before the show, which severely hampered our practice rides, but Saturday and Sunday remained dry, despite the forecast for more rain.

This was our first attempt at Second Level in Dressage, and I was really having second thoughts about going to the show at all.  At this stage we are not concerned about winning ribbons, I just didn’t want to make a complete fool of myself. 

As it turned out, we were able to get through the tests without major errors or disasters.  My scores were low as I expected, but since this was only a schooling show, the judges were patient and kind, and I learned a great deal. 

In Dressage we are given a written score sheet from the judge at the end of each class, which basically explains why she scored us the way she did, and what we need to work on to improve.  I find this very helpful and encouraging.

This was our first show since Brian’s surgeries, and he was not able to help me as much as he used to.  Walking on uneven ground is still difficult for him and he is not able to throw me up on the horse as he used to.  He has spoiled me over the years and I find mounting awkward, even with a mounting block.  Thank goodness Twiggy isn’t very tall!

All in all, it was a fun weekend.  It was good to spend a couple of days surrounded by horses of every shape and color, and to share smiles and words of encouragement with other horse people.  We are a strange lot and nobody else really understands why we put ourselves through what we do for our horses.

Today I finally managed to catch up with the mowing and am working on the laundry and housework.  Twiggy has earned a day off, but I will ride tomorrow, weather permitting.

2 responses

  1. Saw your post for the 14th–what is it about dogs off home turf? The grass is sweeter, the sticks more enticing, the smells richer. Honestly, she’s got all that at home!

    September 14, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    • So true. Abbie even lifts her leg to pee up trees and posts in the park. Not ladylike behavior at all!

      September 15, 2011 at 11:59 am

Leave a Reply

