Just another WordPress.com site

Sunbeams


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As the sun moves farther south and the nights get colder, our road turns into a magical place.  It is well worth being up early to catch the sunbeams coming through the trees.  September seems to be the best time for this.  There are still enough leaves on the trees and the angle of the sun is just right to create this lovely effect.

Much as I love summer and count down the days to Spring during the long Michigan winters, I am never sorry to see Fall approaching.  I will certainly be glad to see the end of deer fly and mosquito season!  I have many outside chores which are on hold, waiting for cooler, bug-free weather. 

Once next weekend’s show is under out belts, Twiggy and I can take a more relaxed approach to our training schedule, and once the ground freezes, we will both take the winter off. (I am definitely a fair weather rider!)

As predicted, our temperature has topped ninety today and we are very glad of our newly installed AC.  Abbie, Brian and I enjoyed a good walk before the heat set in, and will be taking it easy for the rest of the day.

I considered doing some mowing, but a walk down the driveway to pick up the mail convinced me to leave it for another day!  Supposed to be cooler by Sunday.

4 responses

  1. And I’m a frustrated photographer!

    September 6, 2011 at 8:54 am

  2. This is one of those shots that make you think, “I want to live there!”

    September 5, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    • Thanks for your comment. As a frustrated writer, I am thrilled to know people are actually reading my blog!

      September 6, 2011 at 8:03 am

  3. Really nice shot! Thanks for commenting on my blog posting about moss and mosquitos. I’m not a wimp when it comes to bugs (I love photographing them up close), but mosquitos wouldn’t be part of that equation! They normally don’t bother me much (even without spraying on repellent), but this time was BAD!

    September 2, 2011 at 3:46 pm

Leave a Reply

